I'm remaking Yokosuka in fancy next-gen 3D.Yes,that's right!

(Modding and other series related projects)

I'm remaking Yokosuka in fancy next-gen 3D.Yes,that's right!

Postby Lando » Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:28 pm

Hello fellow Shenmue-fans.
A lot has happened since I joined the Dojo in 2005, but as far as Shenmue goes, we're still waiting : (. Back in '05, I was just another youth with an unsure future, but my favorite games of all time were, like most f you, the Shenmues (still is, to this day).
Now, almost 10 years later, I'm a professional 3D-artist, working in the video game industry. Fate, right? Anyways, since Yu and the Boys (and Nagoshi, and the Yakuza-guys) can't seem to do neither a remake of Shenmue I&II, nor shenmue III I've decided to take it upon myself to recreate the whole of Shenmue I in 3D, so everything's done for them the day they decide t actually do a remake! Handy right? : D

I posted this thread almost 2½ years ago, some of you might remember that, it was my intention back then to start this project, but work, life, and everything else came between. Now however, I've got a solid job, many interesting sideprojects running, and a lot of time to kill during the weekends! So, thus, the saga begins ;)

Hope y'all like this!
Every model is 100% custom made from scratch, no Shenmue-assets used at all, every texture is custom made, every painting and kanji based on screenshot/photos of my TV, which I've then painted on for maximum accuracy! It's not much.. yet, but it's something!

Everything's default rendered in the fancy Unreal engine atm, which I'm not yet really familiar with.. but I will be! : D

(I think it all looks kinda crap atm , the light is off and so on,but bear with me, I'll learn as I go and I'll see this through : ) )

The Dojo, for Shenmue Dojo! : D Lacking a roof atm.. working on that!
Gonna light the candles later too!
All the scrolls and stuff are based on the game's! Still missing the sword-box, working on it!