Has Shenmue ever helped you through a hard time in life?

(Chapter 1 | General Series Discussion)

Has Shenmue ever helped you through a hard time in life?

Postby ShenGCH » Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:32 pm

I would never claim to have had the worst upbringing (because I certainly didn't for the most part), but back in 2000, when Shenmue was released over here, I was slap-bang in the middle of a really shitty time during my life. I was being bullied on a daily basis at school; I felt terribly isolated and alien to my peers due to social anxiety disorder; my family was fragmenting and fucking up in ways that simply can't be put into words; and home life in general just wasn't stable or good. In fact, it was a down-right raw misery at times. The one sanctuary I had away from all of this, however, was video games. I started playing games at around the age of three, and while I adored them and they were a huge part of my life, the games I would play were all very A-to-B affairs; Metal Gear Solid, 2D platformers, fighting games, Tony Hawk's, point-and-clickers, etc.